CAS E9: Aerobic Dancing

Journal & Reflection

  • Category: Activity

  • Total Duration: 2 hours


Today, all of us (DP – 1 students) were asked to assemble in the school football field during our last 2 hours of CAS. However, none of us had any idea what we were going to do, and when we went down to the ground, we were surprised to see our school dance teachers waiting for us. “Oh god… Why are we going to dance today?” I asked our CAS Coordinator Mr. Rolf with disappointment. “Cheer up man… It’s not just any form of dance, you guys are going to do aerobic dance!” replied Mr. Rolf.

The dance teachers and sports staff had set up a laptop and the speakers at the control room, to play music for the aerobic exercise. We arranged ourselves into 5 rows, one behind the other. Luckily I was in the last row (as the others wouldn’t see me dance), and I was able to get a good view of everyone in front of me. Once we were all spaced out evenly, the dance teachers started to teach us a few simple moves without music, which were very similar to the stretching exercises we used to do before playing sports such as football or basketball. We did each move for 8 – 16 counts, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves in the process of learning the moves, as it was hilarious to see some of my friends dancing in an eccentric way. Some of the steps we were taught were also extremely similar to swimming strokes, as we moved our hands just like how we would do while swimming freestyle, breast stroke and butterfly strokes.

After practicing the same aerobic exercises for several times, we were given a short water break, and we returned back to the field to perform the same steps, but with music played from the speakers this time. The song was groovy, and the tempo was allegro (fast in music terms), hence each count was actually much faster than we expected. But somehow, after laughing at each other trying to keep up with the music, and after a few attempts, we were able to dance all the moves together, with some coordination. Finally, in the last few minutes before the end of school, we were allowed to play games (football & basketball), even though we were quite exhausted after the aerobic activity.

Although we danced a few simple steps which was very similar to warm-up or stretching exercises, the activity slowly drained out or energy in the course of the two hours. Before this activity, I had no clue what were aerobics, and I had thought that it was for fitness freaks who indulged themselves in excessive physical training. However, it obviously turned out to be entirely different from what I had thought, and I experienced the benefits of this exercise myself. In the stressful life of IB, with “n” number of assignments, tests and exams, it diverted my mind from all these stress for those two hours, and my mind was refreshed and relaxed at the end of the activity.

Moreover, these aerobic exercises have many other benefits to human health, such as increased endurance, improved sleep, maintaining a healthy BMI. What’s more is that people of any age group (from kids to elderly) can indulge in this simple exercise. I look forward to do other similar activities, where we can enjoy some time with friends, and at the same time relieve ourselves from our stressful lives.

About SriVishnu

Hi, I am Vishnu. I am currently pursuing my higher education in TIPS - The Indian Public School, taking IB-DP. My Blog is where I share my personal reflections and opinions of the CAS activities I have experienced, and for many more journeys which are yet to be explored...
This entry was posted in E9. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

