CAS E2: Food Stall Reflection

  • Category: Creativity, Activity, Service
  • Total Duration: 17 hours

After discussing various ideas to raise money (which would be used for future CAS projects), we chose this idea of setting up a food stall, as we thought it would be an easy way to make profit, owing to the experienced staff and equipment present in school. Only on the actual day I realized how much hard work we have to put in, even to run a paltry business like a food stall. We toiled for many hours selling food to customers, and it was an arduous day.

This experience has developed a few practical skills and values within me, which are very much needed for day to day life. Communication was one of the critical aspects that I have learnt, as we had to communicate amongst ourselves and communicate with the customers. One of the challenges we faced is that during peak times, the commotion of people gathering around the stall was worse than that of a fish market. Only with teamwork and communication, we were able to pick up the pace and clear off customers. For instance, at night when the food items were running out, those in the service department would tell us in the accounting department that a particular item has completely sold out, and then we would cancel it off the menu so that the customers are aware of it. Everyone had to play their part to keep the business running efficiently.

As I was in the accounting sector, receiving orders and collecting money, I was able to calculate the change to be given, as well as to give customers their tokens faster. The ability to tackle stress was vital during those times. I had to stay cool, calm and collected so that I do not succumb to pressure and to avoid making mistakes, as it is crucial that I don’t give people wrong tokens or extra change! Perseverance is another trait which all of us had shown together throughout the day, as we worked for about 6 hours straight, and as time passed by I could see that we were all getting exhausted. However, every time a wave of customers swarmed our stall, we were able to boost our energy levels and get back to business.

I am glad that all of us, including our DP-2 seniors, were immensely involved in the operation of the food stall, and it was our collaborative effort that allowed us to reap a colossal amount of profit – A total profit of about 30,000 Rupees! This CAS project has imparted cardinal skills and values in me, along with indelible memories of my friends in TIPS.

YouTube link to the after-movie (more details in CAS E2: Food Stall Journal 3): Click Here

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About SriVishnu

Hi, I am Vishnu. I am currently pursuing my higher education in TIPS - The Indian Public School, taking IB-DP. My Blog is where I share my personal reflections and opinions of the CAS activities I have experienced, and for many more journeys which are yet to be explored...
This entry was posted in E2. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

