CAS E1: Republic Day Reflection

IMG_0676

  • Category: Activity                                                                                          
  • Total Duration: 8 hours

I would say that it was a fun-filled adventure to have taken part in my school’s Republic Day celebrations. Through my journal entries, I am able to recollect my journey with my classmates together from our first CAS lesson, till the day of our performance. I realized the value of working collaboratively with my classmates through this activity, because in order to perform well all of us had to execute our hand drills in a synchronized manner. While practicing, I understood that even if one of us had gone wrong or was out of rhythm, all the efforts of others would be in vain, causing the performance to be ruined. Fortunately, we had practiced them several times together, so we did not forget the drills or mess up the timing on the actual day of performance.

Although the hand drills were not difficult, it was certainly something new and different. Practicing the exercises several times under the scalding sun instilled not only patience, but also discipline within me. The human pyramid was also a unique experience, as bearing the burden of two people kneeling down on my back made me more confident of my physical strength. I am glad that I was able to give my best every practice, which improved my timing and coordination while performing the hand drills.

Moreover, this Republic Day celebration has also enhanced my knowledge of India’s history and its diverse culture. A few PYP kids spoke in various official state languages of India on that day, which taught me information of the different cultures of India in a captivating way. Also, by watching the yoga activity of a few of my classmates, I realized the immense dedication and time needed to be devoted to perform such extraordinary yoga poses, and the rich historical heritage of India.

Overall, my journey was more than just being a part of an enjoyable activity, as I had developed invaluable virtues such as patience, discipline and perseverance along the way, and also gained knowledge of Indian history and culture during the Republic Day celebrations.

About SriVishnu

Hi, I am Vishnu. I am currently pursuing my higher education in TIPS - The Indian Public School, taking IB-DP. My Blog is where I share my personal reflections and opinions of the CAS activities I have experienced, and for many more journeys which are yet to be explored...
This entry was posted in E1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

